More Power.

Summer 2008: So after the last test it seemed that we were only getting half the thrust I would have hoped for. I searched again on the net for an engine with the same phyiscal dimensions but with more oomph!!!!! A chap was selling a ‘Stage 3’ engine on ebay for £130 and confirmed to me that the power output was around 6hp. If that was true then 40kg thrust was in easy reach. So without delay I brought a unit off him.

Thinking we were near then end of our journey, I asked Sam if he could help build a steel frame and cage to take the increased power and provide an airborne test bed. After several designs, we chose the simplest we could and Sam and his contacts set about the construction.

The rev counter showed peak revs at 8330rpm. This equated to 1660 prop rpm and 28kg thrust. Sam was very pleased with the amount of thrust being developed but I was unhappy, I wanted more.

A tuned exhaust had come as part of the package with the uprated engine and because we had to modify it to fit the frame I suspected we might have affected its power potential. We tried some flexible exhaust hose to lengthen the header section again but no advantage was gained. We welded the exhaust back to how we had originally modded it.

So, what’s next I thought?????

Leave a Reply

