Not Quite Oomph!!!

30.03.11: Sam and I conducted another bathroom scales test at the weekend and amazingly and also annoyingly only achieved around 35kg thrust??? I’m not sure how accurate this method is but the carb jetting is much better/richer now than the last recent scales test when we got around 38-40kg thrust (see previous video). I can only speculate that is type of testing is quite flawed……… Well that’s what I’m hoping any way.

So to try and get some accurate information regarding the prop’s performance I’ve pestered Xoar again for some technical data for the 36x10PJD-P prop. When I asked them for the data a good year or so ago they didn’t have any. Thankfully they now have the relevant information and Rebecca from Xoar emailed me the PJD-P 36×10 data yesterday. (I also have the ‘old’ PJD-P 34×10 available too for those of you who may require it)

Unfortunately, when I checked the data, the 4900rpm I achieved in the garage a week or two ago doesn’t equate to the 45kg thrust I was expecting with my own calculations. It is more like a meagre 42kg thrust instead. I need to achieve 14.5hp/5000rpm in order to get the 45kg (44.7kg according to data) performance I’m wanting, the 4900rpm we got only equates to 13.5hp.

I’ve ordered a Pulstar pulse plug to try and achieve improved combustion and may be squeeze an extra fraction of thrust.

I will update soon…..

6 Responses to “Not Quite Oomph!!!”

  1. Hi Eggmotor pilots, what’s new? as the development of “new” eggmotor? watching your blog and I have long seen nothing new. am I? I am from Czech Republic, and I made ​​eggmotor and flies with him.Mi English is not very good I hope you can understand.your Emil Write me and I will send my photo eggmotor for you. Have a good flight, and happy landings

  2. hello,
    I am interested in constructing a paraglide with GX 200 engine and I need propeller 34 x 10 and motor shaft clamping sleeve

    you can help ?

    Regards, Dan Vasile

    • Hello, very sorry for long response time. It’s very rare now that I check the blog as all Eggmotor development ceased nearly 18 months ago. You can try Xoar International for the prop, I think they still make the 34×10 PJD-P prop. Not sure what you mean but a “motor shaft clamping sleeve”.

  3. I love what you guys are up too. This type of clever work
    and coverage! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included
    you guys to blogroll.

    • Many thanks 🙂 Unfortunately, we’ve ceased any further development now 😦 It’s all been quiet at EggHQ since Spring 2014. Cheers again though 🙂

Leave a Reply

