Big Egg, Big Thrust

6.11.11: It’s has been a while since I last updated the blog and there is much to mention. The original Loncin gx200 engine now has a new home in a larger stainless steel frame together with a Bailey-Egg reduction kit and a 1.3m prop from D&T Propellers. This machine was originally built for a BIG challenge but due to financial constraints the ‘challenge’ has been abandoned for the foreseeable future. I did initially try a smaller alloy framed design to utilize the redundant fan blade assembly from the defunct Eggmonster project but I was unhappy with the strength and quality of my ‘Durafix’ joints. So I invested in some 16mm stainless steel and made a tube bender to roll the cage sections.

DIY Tube Bender

DIY Tube Bender

New Cage Construction

New Cage Construction

Bare Stainless Cage

Bare Stainless Cage

Engine Close Up

Engine Close Up

New Eggmotor

New Eggmotor

New Eggmotor

New Eggmotor

Now we have the same thrust of the old Eggmonster but for much less weight. With our bathroom scales we achieved 48-50kg (106-110lb) thrust this afternoon. A few minor niggles to sort out and we will be ready for our maiden test flight.

2 Responses to “Big Egg, Big Thrust”

  1. Hi Robert, Have you found the (suitably modified) clone engines reliable compared to GX engines? I’m building my own, and I’d love to know wher e to buy those pulleys on your tube bender! Interesting development. Cheers, Bob.

    • Hello Bob,
      The gx200 Eggmotor doesn’t have a lot of run-time unfortunately, even though it’s the original engine from 2008 (d-drive guise until 2011). I doubt there is more than 2 hours in total. The only problem I’ve had was a blowing head gasket that I only found out about when swapping the head over for more compression. I think this was probably due to my error as I had thread-locked the head bolts back in 2008 which I guess caused in-correct torquing/poor seal. After watching some of ARC Racing’s tutorial videos, they suggest putting oil on all the bolts to allow for correct torquing. With this in mind, I cleaned the thread-lock residue off the block and bolts and followed ARC’s advice….. so far so good 🙂 I got the pulleys off ebay, they are plastic/nylon I guess and they do flex a little bit with the diameter of the 16mm tubing. They are karabiner pulleys. I’ve searched on ebay UK but can’t find them any more, this is the title of the ones I brought last year “Petzl P00A Ultralegere Pulley Wheel NEW”

      I hope this helps?
      Cheers,
      Rob.
      p.s. I really need to get around to updating this blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

